1200px-Flag_of_France.svg.png

LET'S SPEAK FRENCH

weekly group conversations

 

HOW DOES IT WORK?

1. Watch free weekly 4-minute videos on YouTube

  • YouTube

2. Sign up on Meetup or Duolingo and join the weekly online conversations

ecd7491d9f9602e705f3cefbd3a17254_edited.png

3. Need more? Find your monthly plan on Patreon

 
 

Receive one video in your inbox every week.

WEEKLY SCHEDULE

Sign up using Meetup Calendar or Duolingo

Tuesdays

INTERMEDIATE/ADVANCED

11am PST / 2pm EST / 7pm GMT

Tuesdays

BEGINNER/INTERMEDIATE

12pm PST / 3pm EST / 8pm GMT

Thursdays

INTERMEDIATE

10am PST / 1pm EST / 6pm GMT

ecd7491d9f9602e705f3cefbd3a17254_edited.png

Sundays

BEGINNER

11am PST / 2pm EST / 7pm GMT

Sundays

INTERMEDIATE

12pm PST / 3pm EST / 8pm GMT

Sundays

ADVANCED

1pm PST / 4pm EST / 9pm GMT

Thanks for submitting!

RECENT TOPICS
UPCT - Science: Is nuclear energy "green"?
04:24
UPCT - Politics: Where does the term "coup d'État" come from?
04:12

UPCT - Politics: Where does the term "coup d'État" come from?

⚡️ Mixing music, politics, news and linguistics, this week we are focusing on the term "coup d'État". A "coup d'État" is a putsch, and also a song by Ivorian singer Alpha Blondy. Is his lyrics, he denounces the excess of coups caused by international interests in Africa. There has been quite a few coups in the news recently. But what does the term exactly mean and where does it come from? (subtitles are available in French and English by clicking on the CC button on the YouTube control bar). 🎵 Listen to Alpha Blondy's song "Coup d'État": https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y4p7ahySjyg 🔗 Thorough analysis of coups d'État in Africa: https://app.brief.me/commencer?next=%2Fedition%2F2022-01-29-2852-coups-detat-en-afrique-chronologie-des-medias-sketch 🔗 Origins of the term "coup d'État": https://www.rtbf.be/article/le-mot-du-jour-coup-d-etat-fabrice-grosfilley-8981362?id=8981362 🔗 List of coups d'États per country: https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liste_de_coups_d%27%C3%89tat 🎵 Video soundtrack: https://open.spotify.com/artist/6i4JjGSsId4CCCVkJuwLHa?si=K0d8KhxkSqqAPq8_kw5XqQ ☝️ If you enjoyed this episode, please consider: - supporting on https://www.patreon.com/frenchconversationgroup or https://anchor.fm/frenchconversationgroup - subscribe and share 🇫🇷 French Conversation Group meets weekly in Los Angeles, New York or online. It's meant for non native speakers (beginners, intermediate, advanced) to practice their French and have fun. You're more than welcome to join! Check out this link for more info: https://www.frenchconversationgroup.com
 

also available as

ABOUT

Who is it for?

French Conversation Group meets weekly on Zoom. It's meant for non native speakers (beginners, intermediate, advanced) to practice their French and have fun. You're more than welcome to join!

French Conversation Group

I have been organizing weekly conversations successfully for nine years locally in New York, Los Angeles and London. Now is the time to open it to the rest of the world online. This group is perfect for the people who want to practice their French with interesting conversations about culture, arts, science, politics, etc.

I'm a French-native speaker with fifteen years of experience in teaching French to kids and adults.

For private lessons, contact me personally.

A bientôt!

Rafaël

Rafael_photo.png
 

CONTACT

Thanks for submitting!